Undo button added to AdWords

The ecosystem of a Google AdWords account is a very fragile thing indeed. Despite the best of intentions, not every optimisation carried out by a PPC account manager will have a positive impact.

The ecosystem of a Google AdWords account is a very fragile thing indeed. Despite the best of intentions, not every optimisation carried out by a PPC account manager will have a positive impact. It may be new ad copy, ad scheduling, a new bidding strategy or any number of other alterations – no matter how sound the reasoning is for the change, you never know exactly what its impact will be until it is implemented and tested.

For that reason, the ability to spot where things have gone somewhat awry becomes as crucial as the ability to identify opportunities to evolve and grow an account. As part of this process, all account managers will have spent plenty of time pouring over the Change History of their account, attempting to pinpoint the guilty party before flipping back and manually reversing the change.

A recent update rolled out across AdWords will make this process far easier for all account managers with an undo button being added to the Change History area of the account. This will appear next to changes made within the previous 30 days and does exactly as you would expect – reverts the selection to its state prior to alteration. Not all changes are reversible – keyword match type changes for example can’t be undone.

A handy little time saver which will be very welcome – just don’t get click happy, ensure a reasoned analysis has been carried out before you apportion blame. All optimisations are innocent until proven guilty.